Activist Fundraiser

Hi! I’m Camille Holthaus, a community organizer and activist for the bi+ community. My volunteering is on behalf is people who are attracted to more than one gender and who use labels such as bisexual, pansexual, fluid, and queer.

Donations are being accepted through PlumFund.

This summer I am traveling twice as an advocate for my community. Some of my expenses are being covered by organizations associated with the work, however I need to raise the funds to fly to Alexandria, VA and to cover some of the expenses I have because I am attending BiCon.

The first trip to Alexandria, VA is at the end of July. I have been invited to participate in a presentation at the Equality Federation Leadership Conference to discuss the importance of bi+ inclusion in state and local policy work. My hotel has been covered by a private donation and conference registration has been covered by OutFront MN. However, I need to raise my airfare.

The second trip is to Leeds, England. The Bisexual Organizing Project and BiCon have agreed to each send two organizers to each other’s conferences. Our goal is to share conference organizing skills and building stronger connections between the U.S. and the U.K. bi+ communities.  I have agreed to co-chair BOP’s BECAUSE conference for 2018 – 2022 and hope to use skills learned on this trip to create a stronger, more sustainable BECAUSE conference. BOP is covering airfare and BiCon is covering conference registration and meals. However, there will be additional expenses I need assistance covering including my passport cost and  boarding my dog while I am away.

Many of you know how important this work is to me. I hope that you will be able to support me this summer. Any funds raised which are not needed for the two trips will be donated to the Bisexual Organizing Project.

Leave a Reply

